EgyptSearch Forums
  Ancient Egypt and Egyptology
  why did Egyptian civilization last so long?

profile | register | preferences | faq | search

UBBFriend: Email This Page to Someone! next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   why did Egyptian civilization last so long?
matt1625

posted 10 September 2003 03:22 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for matt1625     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
I'm a new student on Egyptology. I'm fascinated by this people and culture. I'm new to surfing the net and researching in depth.

I'm looking for some insights and opinions from someone who has more time and experience than me in studying this ancient civilization, and why you think it was so successful. I will keep studying myself, of course, but I'd like to hear what you think.

Please reply as soon as possible. I'm working on some deep research.

Also, you can email me at matt1625@yahoo.com

thanks!

IP: Logged

Monica

posted 10 September 2003 10:02 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Monica     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Maybe this will help;

The civilization of pharaonic Egypt lasted for almost three thousand years, and that is far longer than any other culture of the ancient world. This fact gives a continuity to Egyptian culture and its art.

More than once, Egypt rose, flourished, declined and fell by the way. Long before the classical Greece, Egypt had already enjoyed at least 3 peiods of prosperity and centralized power.

And then came the periods of decline and change known as the First, Second and Third intermediate periods.

Actually, Egypt has changed dramatically and perhaps more so than any other culture. New styles have developed with new reigns, with new dynasties and with the arrival of new historical eras.
AND
The annual inundation of the croplands which occurred when the Nile rose in flood provided the most dramatic marker of the progress of time..... I CAN GO ON AND ON....

Have a great day!

Monica

quote: