EgyptSearch Forums Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» EgyptSearch Forums » Egyptology » Ancient Egyptian Painter

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Ancient Egyptian Painter
Isler
Member # 15350

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Isler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello to All,

This is my first post here. I am an artist working on a portrait of an Ancient Egyptian Painter . . .

-

I call it “Awan Royal Painter”. The painting is coming along well (life size) however I have some questions regarding the nature of the paint brushes used by the AE’s. I’ve some ideas gathered via “Google” (see my drawings)

-

but would appreciate any input some of you may wish to add here. Thanks in advance.

Posts: 14 | From: Waterloo Ontario | Registered: Jun 2008  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Doug M
Member # 7650

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Doug M     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
What is the purpose of this image?

Is it intended as an accurate rendering of what an Egyptian painter may have looked like at some point in time? If so what point in time and from where? If you are going for accuracy then how did you model the figure, based on what sources?

As for the brushes, I am not that familiar with the various types of AE brushes, but it looks like you are on the right track.

Posts: 8897 | Registered: May 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Isler
Member # 15350

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Isler   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Doug,