EgyptSearch Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» EgyptSearch Forums » Hetheru's Corner » Sha'aban's Latest Video Clip

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Sha'aban's Latest Video Clip
qanungi
Member # 10479

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for qanungi     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Greetings,
I'm new to this forum and wanted to introduce myself as well as make an inquiry. My name is Jim Grippo, I am a doctoral student in ethnomusicology out of Univ. of California, Santa Barbara. I am presently in Cairo, Egypt doing research on the history of modern shaabi music (basically from Mohammad al-'Ezzaby to Sha'aban 'Abd al-Rahim), if anyone has insight into this topic I would love to hear from them.

However, at the moment I'm working on an article for Transnational Broadcasting Studies journal (http://www.tbsjournal.com/), a great resource for those who haven't seen it yet, on Sha'aban's latest video clip about the Danish cartoons: "Khallasna al-Sabr Kullu." I've seen it a few times but I haven't been able to record it or download it. Does anyone have this video on their hard drive or know how I can get a copy in Egypt?

Of course, any insights into this video or Sha'aban in general would always be welcome.

Looking forward to more great postings,

Jim Grippo

Posts: 7 | From: Cairo, Egypt | Registered: Mar 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
* 7ayat *
Member # 7043

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for * 7ayat *     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
i haven't seen this video specifically, but i've seen the others. plus i'm a fan of shabi music in general, what would you like to know?
Posts: 4446 | From: Egyptian in Sydney | Registered: Mar 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
qanungi
Member # 10479

Rate Member