EgyptSearch Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» EgyptSearch Forums » Hetheru's Corner » Troubadours in Hotels/Pubs?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Troubadours in Hotels/Pubs?
Sano
Member # 13248

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Sano     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi guys, a newbie here. Would appreciate some opinions. I am a vocalist/acoustic guitar player, mainly playing music based on the American singer/songwriter tradition: Don Mclean, James Taylor, Cat Stevens, Jim Croce etc.. Would love to come to Egypt on a working holiday ..maybe perform in Hotels/pubs and spend some life in Egypt. Is there a market for Troubadouring ..or is it mostly bands? Any ideas on how I could go about this? Also, what are the names of some of the big bands in Egypt today, playing European music?

Thanks for any help. Regards from Finland.

http://kotisivu.dnainternet.net/aani1/acoustic/

Posts: 4 | Registered: Apr 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
NotSleeplessInCairo
Member # 8452

Icon 1 posted      Profile for NotSleeplessInCairo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi Adam,

I've never heard this term Troubadouring before. Is it like a one man band?

Anyway, I guess you can try these websites for more help:

Emajor - Forum
Bassit Club - Forum
Sawy Centre They have a number of artists who play regularly (bands and solo), but you have to audition and there's a waiting list.