EgyptSearch Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» EgyptSearch Forums » Deshret » Who Was Zhul Al Qarnain?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Who Was Zhul Al Qarnain?
Jari Judah
Member # 17584

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Jari Judah     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I have been doing research for a couple of years on this mysterious figure of history. I was wondering if anyone here had any input:

Zul-Qarnain and the Setting Sun in Sura 18:83-86

(March 2007 version)

"They will ask thee of Dhu'l-Qarneyn [Zul-Qarnain]. Say: I shall recite unto you a remembrance of him. Lo! We made him strong in the land and gave him unto every thing a road. And he followed a road Till, when he reached the setting-place of the sun, he found it setting in a muddy spring, and found a people thereabout. We said: O Dhu'l-Qarneyn! Either punish or show them kindness." Sura 18:83-86 (Pickthall’s translation)

Does the sun really set in the waters of a muddy/murky spring, or is the Qur’an in error, or is there another explanation? First we will look at the plain meaning of Sura 18:83-86, and then we will look at some Muslim explanations and responses.

A Little Astronomy

It might not be widely known that under the ‘Abbasid Muslim rulers, Arabs and Persians made many advances in astronomy, naming many stars, as well as copying and correcting some of Ptolemy’s tables. However, the sun is many times larger than the entire earth, and the earth travels around the sun. The sun does not set in the waters of a muddy spring.

Who Was Zul-Qarnain?

We have no evidence that Mohammed told anyone who this man was. Muslims have four views.