EgyptSearch Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» EgyptSearch Forums » Share Your Egyptian Experiences/Love & Marriage chat » Mad about Saffron: I've never met a man underwater before

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Mad about Saffron: I've never met a man underwater before
_
Member # 3567

Rate Member
Icon 12 posted      Profile for _     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Jan 23 2009 London Informer

After a week on holiday in Egypt, I have returned a little less pasty and a lot more relaxed.

While I was there I did something I have never done before - scuba diving.

It proved to be one of the most amazing experiences of my life, but not just because of the gorgeous fish and coral. I had been really sad when my dive was over and it was time to return to the boat to take off the equipment.

As we still had an hour before we had to leave, I paddled back to the reef wearing a mask and snorkel to gaze at nature's wonder a few moments longer.

Diving underwater to get a closer look at a sea cucumber, I was surprised by a tap on the shoulder. Behind me was a scuba diving man in a black wet suit with a tank on his back. He waved and I waved back. Then he offered me his second regulator - the spare mouthpiece divers have to help their underwater 'buddies' to breathe.

I hesitated. I didn't know who he was, or whether it was safe to breathe his air. I had only tried my first dive that morning. Who was he? But then I decided to say yes. I cast aside my fears and took the strange underwater man's regulator.

He put he arm round me to stop me floating to the surface (scuba divers are weighed down) and side-by-side, 10 metres underwater, we swam slowly along the reef.

He took pictures of me with my underwater camera and pointed out strange sea life.