EgyptSearch Forums Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» EgyptSearch Forums » Egyptology » Studying Egyptology

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Studying Egyptology
Neith-Athena
Member # 10040

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Neith-Athena     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I am currently an undergraduate in college and want to major in Egyptology eventually when I go to grad school. Unfortunately, the university that I attend does not offer this major - very few do. I was wondering whether majoring in Classics would be a good launching pad into the field because there was so much interaction between Egypt and Greece and Rome, although I do not find the latter two civilizations all that interesting when compared to Kemet. And I do know that I will have to put up with quite a lot of Eurocentric rubbish. There are other fields like art history and archaeology in which I could major, but I find languages easier to learn and am more interested in literature.

Does anybody have any suggestions? They would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Posts: 140 | From: USA | Registered: Jan 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Djehuti
Member # 6698

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Djehuti     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
^ I don't know. A friend of mine is an anthroplogy major, specifically archaeology. Her interest is in India, and all she did was apply for a summer program in India. She's there right now. So I thought all you have to do is major in archaeology and apply for certain programs in Egypt or at least Egyptological programs elsewhere like in France, England, etc. (?)